The Wedding Dress-es

9 January 2011

Can’t believe the day’s here now!

Here are the final creations of everything πŸ™‚ You can notice some changes in design, which is a result of the collaboration and putting expertise input to make the pieces more comfortable. And of course, final fabric choices affect the design as well :p

The dream wedding dress πŸ™‚

It really can’t be anymore perfect than this and the fact that I designed it, worked on it and made by a couturier is beyond the word satisfying.Β I don’t like bling bling stuff so we decided on pearl beads on the lace insert on the front centre bodice with a lil bit of crystal swarovski to make it more glimmering

Walking down the Jakarta Cathedral aisle with the 2.5m train
This is a heavy train…2.5m long, 3 layers of silk duchess that are beaded with pearl and swarovsky around the edges

The back of the dress without the train

Yea the train was just too heavy so had to take it off for our first dance πŸ˜‰ otherwise don’t think the groom could pick the bride up with it!I did want the tier balloon ‘outer skirt’ to be more like a second layer of the bottom gown but turned out it would take whole lot of additional meters if that was to be done :sLove the corsage though…it looked just perfect πŸ™‚

The Perfect Flapper Dress for dancing

I love this dress! It was perfect for an after party dance, it was strikingly distinctive and it was the best final touch up for the 1920s wedding πŸ™‚ The groom’s after-party outfit was also of a paperboy casual 1920s boy depiction. I got him the paperboy hat but yea it was left behind in his house…yea don’t wanna talk about it :/

The fringe took 20m each of the blue and off-white colour. We were gonna do kinda like a gradient and I saw it so much on the floor already but Suzy Lucon came up with the idea of putting the 2 colours on top of each other. The fringes layers somewhat 4-5 times on each tier so yea it was pretty heavy when I pulled the skirt :p

Wedding and after-party dresses are done custom-made by Suzy Lucon.

The Groom

Tail coat with satin edging on the collar and gosh the white-on-white vest, bow tie and shirt is sooo cool! πŸ˜€

Tuxedos of the groom is done custom-made by Richard Tailor

The Flapper Bridesmaids for the Ceremony

I love love the way the bridesmaid dresses turned out to be! It has 1920s flair with the layer silhouette, drapery, fringe, pearls…and the salmon peach colours turned out to be fabulous with the contrast coral lace πŸ™‚ When I picked the coral lace, I did fall in love with it already but my sister, the maid of honour, was like ‘errmmmm are u sure??’ heheh well I’m glad I stick by my choice :p

The Flapper Bridesmaids at the reception

This is when they look more flapper-ish with the headpieces I created for them…they look more fun and definitely stand out from the crowd..yeaaa I want my gurls to be striking!! πŸ˜€

The picture on the left are with the 2 groomsmen too with brown vest and bow tie

I created another dress for the Maid of Honour…hahaha yeaa I had ‘that much’ time on my hand :pΒ But I had fun making 1920s dresses and when the 4s were finished, I was like ‘ahhh bummer….’Β So that’s the 2nd dress, it has an interesting back you can see it in the next pics :p

And on the left is me rockin’ the after-party dress with my bridesmaid πŸ˜‰ It was really fun dancing with all the fringes!

Bridesmaid dresses are done custom-made by contracted sewers.

The Chic 20s Flapper

Here is another dress I created for my cousin. She’s very fair so I put blue chiffon over off-white satin duchess with art-deco style lace.Β It’s a fish-tail style dress with exaggerated bottom skirt. And I like how the back turned out with the low back and lace on the edges like a wing. She had her hair with the finger wave and with the headpiece I made for her, she looked uber-flapper πŸ™‚

HeadPieces

1920s flapper gurls were mostly seen and depicted with headpieces, especially the ones with feathers. So of course, I can’t miss that and I’ve been making headpieces kinda as a hobby anyway πŸ˜‰ All, except the bride’s lace headpiece (the feather is a separate piece by the way), are done hand-made by me πŸ™‚

Alrite that was it…the perfect 1920s wedding I could ever have πŸ˜€ Hope you enjoy reading the journey of our wedding and rockin’ the dresses! Gosh I wish I could do it all over again! Hahaha…yea when I said that, people were like ‘Are u crazy??’Β It WAS a stressful and frustrating time especially finding that things couldn’t turn out the way you want it, the time constraints, bringing people together..it was really more like a set of event production, beyond a conventional wedding. But now that it’s over, I’m glad we did it all ourselves, got our hands dirty, drilled our brain, body and mind…heck I remember me & the groom sitting on a cafe from midday til it’s closed at 10pm just drawing, editing, all simply working on the wedding! It was satisfying though…maybe when I do a fashion show production, the satisfaction will be something like this or beyond! But I do remember 1 thing if I ever do something like this again..Do it right, do it perfect and do it beyond your imagination and others’ expectation πŸ˜‰

Cheers from the Chicago 1920s Gangsta!

* Photographs are all taken byΒ David Salim

Comments
2 Responses to “The Wedding Dress-es”
  1. Ashley says:

    Love this

Trackbacks
Check out what others are saying...


Leave a Reply

